Thursday, July 31, 2014

IRMMW-THz-14 to 19 September, 2014

Welcome to the 39th International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves

A Searchable Schedule can now be downloaded from our Technical Program page
We received a total of 670 Abstracts from 34 countries
553 papers have been accepted, including 10 Plenary talks, 31 Keynotes, 249 regular orals and 263 posters.

Early & Exhibitor Registration Opens: January 14th, 2014
Abstract submission deadline: April 1st, 2014
Late Abstract deadline: Tuesday, April 8, 2014
Regular Registration Period: April 1st - Aug. 3rd, 2014
Final papers due: July 7th, 2014
Late Registration Begins: August 4th, 2014
Conference: September 14-19th, 2014
Excursions: Friday Afternoon Sept. 19th (through 6PM)

The IRMMW-THz Conference Series
The International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz), is the oldest and largest continuous forum devoted to the science and technology of long-wavelength radiation. The scope of the conference includes all scientific and technological activities from millimeter-waves to the THz regime and on to the far-infrared region of the electromagnetic spectrum. This covers a very wide range of disciplines, encompassing everything from micro- and nano-scale devices and structures to large-scale accelerators and tokamaks and their applications. Presentations at this conference address issues ranging from basic physics, chemistry, electrical engineering and materials science to problems in high frequency circuits and systems, communications, antennas and optics, imaging and spectroscopy, and much, much more. 
The conference brings together scientists and technologists from more than 30 countries and typically hosts 600-700 participants. Contributed papers are archived on IEEEXplore, and IEEE is a long term technical co-sponsor of the conference series - currently celebrating 40 years since the first event was held in Atlanta, Georgia in 1974. We want to welcome all the attendees of this very special 40th anniversary conference in Tucson, Arizona. We know you will have a wonderful week.
A Bit of Conference History
Founded in 1974 under the title, International Conference on Submillimeter Waves and their Applications, today's International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz) continues to grow in scope and stature.  The conference and its long standing accompanying monthly publication, now known as the Journal of Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves (JIMT), were among the very first scientific outlets for the burgeoning field of far infrared research. In 2004, the original conference series - by then known as the International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves (IRMMW) - joined up with the International Conference on THz Electronics to form the Joint 29th International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves and the 12th International Conference on Terahertz Electronics (IRMMW-THz 2004). After 2008, the conference name was shortened to the International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves, keeping the same general acronym: IRMMW-THz 20XX. 
On May 7, 2009 the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves was officially incorporated. The society was formed to give a permanent home to the International Organizing Committee (IOC) for IRMMW-THz, to formalize the role of the IOC in maintaining the current conference series, and to link technically with JIMT. In addition, the Society administers the Kenneth J. Button Prize, awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the science of infrared, millimeter, and terahertz waves and the IRMMW-THz Exceptional Service Award.  The current membership of the IOC can be found here and general information on the conference series - including applications to host the conferenceSociety By-Lawsnomination procedures for Society prizes and more can be found at the society web page:
Tucson 2014
Since 2000, the IRMMW-THz conference series has alternated between Asia, Europe and America on a continuous three year cycle. At this, our 39th conference, we will be meeting on the campus of the University of Arizona in Tucson, AZ, USA, between September 14th and 19th, 2014. On a special note, the 2014 conference celebrates the 40th anniversary of the very first conference in this series, which was held at Georgia Tech University, Atlanta, GA, USA in June 1974.  The conference is organized by a Local Organizing Committee under the auspices of the IOC, and with technical co-sponsorship from the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S). The location affords easy access to the many exciting sights and experiences of the city of Tucson and the surrounding Sonora Desert.
We look forward to seeing you in Tucson! Make sure to plan your return flight on Saturday the 20th so you can participtae in our Friday afternoon excursions on the 19th.
Host Organization
This conference is hosted by the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves and the University of Arizona, with substantial support from colleagues at nearby Arizona State University and the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, CA. The Local Organizing Committee wishes to acknowledge the generous help of the University of Arizona Foundation and the University of Arizona departments of Astronomy and Electrical Engineering.

No comments: